## CHAPTER II.—CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT\*

## CONSPECTUS

	PAGE
Part I.—Constitution of Canada	78
Part II.—Machinery of Government	83
SECTION 1. THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT.	83
Subsection 1. The Executive	84
Subsection 2. The Legislature	90
Subsection 3. The Judiciary	103
Section 2. Provincial and Territorial Governments	105
Subsection 1. Newfoundland	106
Subsection 2. Prince Edward Island.	107
Subsection 3. Nova Scotia	108
Subsection 4. New Brunswick	109
Subsection 5. Quebec	110
Subsection 6. Ontario	112
Subsection 7. Manitoba	113
Subsection 8. Saskatchewan	114
Subsection 9. Alberta	115
Subsection 10. British Columbia	116
Subsection 11. Yukon Territory and	
Northwest Territories	117
SECTION 3. MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT	119
SECTION 4. FEDERAL AND PROVINCIAL	
ROTAL COMMISSIONS	124

	LAGE
Part IIIAdministrative Functions of the Federal Government	125
SECTION 1. FINANCIAL ADMINISTRATION	125
SECTION 2. DEPARTMENTS, BOARDS, COM- MISSIONS, ETC	130
SECTION 3. CROWN CORPORATIONS	142
Section 4. Acts Administered by Fedebal Departments	151
Part IVFederal and Provincial Govern- ment Employment	156
Part VCanada's External Relations	16 <b>3</b>
SECTION 1. DIPLOMATIC REPRESENTATION AB AT JUNE 30, 1966	164
SECTION 2. INTERNATIONAL ACTIVITIES, 1965-66 Subsection 1. Canada and Commonwealth Relations Subsection 2. Canada and the United Nations Subsection 3. Canada and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization Subsection 4. Canadian External Aid Programs	170 170 171 176 178
Subsection 5. Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development	181

n. ...

The interpretation of the symbols used in the tables throughout the Year Book will be found on p. viii of this volume.

## PART I.--CONSTITUTION OF CANADA

The Canadian federal state, which today comprises ten provinces and two vast northern territories, had its beginning one hundred years ago in the enactment (Mar. 29, 1867) by the British Parliament of the British North America Act, 1867. Fashioned largely out of the Seventy-two Resolutions drafted at Quebec (1864) by the Fathers of Confederation, the British North America Act, 1867 provided for the federal union of the three British North American provinces (Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia) in one Dominion under the name of "Canada"

<sup>\*</sup> Except where otherwise indicated, the information in this Chapter has been brought up to the date of Oct. 1, 1966. Certain changes occurring between that date and the date of going to press will be found in an Appendix to this volume. Also, official appointments made up to the date of going to press will be found in Chapter XXVII (see Index).